inspiration

Inspiration: Cloud Atlas

 

I don’t know why, but the other day I remembered the movie Cloud Atlas. I haven’t read the book, but it is definitely on my list of books for 2017. The movie made an impression on me, mainly because it is about souls, which immediately captures my full attention. So here are a few of the quotes that I absolutely adore, about the timelessness and connectivities of our human  condition.

 

“Power, time, gravity, love. The forces that really kick ass are all invisible.”

 

“I believe there is another world waiting for us. A better world. And I’ll be waiting for you there.” 

 

“My life amounts to no more than one drop in a limitless ocean. Yet what is any ocean, but a multitude of drops?”

 

“Our lives are not our own. We are bound to others, past and present, and by each crime and every kindness, we birth our future.”

 

“Fantasy. Lunacy.
All revolutions are, until they happen, then they are historical inevitabilities.”

 

“What wouldn’t I give now for a never-changing map of the ever-constant ineffable? To possess, as it were, an atlas of clouds.”

 

”All boundaries are conventions, waiting to be transcended. One may transcend any convention if only one can first conceive of doing so.”

 Cloud Atlas, by David Mitchell


Standard

Leave a Reply

