inspiration

Inspiration: Mr. Oscar Wilde

Yesterday quotes led me to Oscar Wilde’s world of irony and clever wit. I had forgotten all about him, it seemed. So spent a couple of hours reading his thoughts and re-considering his opinions. Here are some of the best quotes I found.

 

” To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” Oscar Wilde



” I am so clever that sometimes I don’t understand a single word of what I am saying.” Oscar Wilde, The Happy Prince and Other Stories



” Yes: I am a dreamer. For a dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world.” Oscar Wilde, The Critic as Artist



” Women are meant to be loved, not to be understood.” Oscar Wilde



” To define is to limit.” Oscar Wilde 



” I have the simplest tastes. I am always satisfied with the best.” Oscar Wilde



” Art is the only serious thing in the world. And the artist is the only person who is never serious.” Oscar Wilde


” Humanity takes itself too seriously. It is the world’s original sin. If the cave-man had known how to laugh, History would have been different.” Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray


” Everything in moderation, including moderation.” Oscar Wilde



” I never put off till tomorrow what I can possibly do – the day after.” Oscar Wilde


” Only the shallow know themselves.”  Oscar Wilde


” She is all the great heroines of the world in one. She is more than an individual. I love her, and I must make her love me. I want to make Romeo jealous. I want the dead lovers of the world to hear our laughter, and grow sad. I want a breath of our passion to stir dust into consciousness, to wake their ashes into pain.” Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray


” What does it profit a man if he gain the whole world and loses his own soul?”  Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray


” Consistency is the hallmark of the unimaginative.” Oscar Wilde



” Some things are too important to be taken seriously.” Oscar Wilde


” It is only shallow people who require years to get rid of an emotion. A man who is master of himself can end a sorrow as easily as he can invent a pleasure. I don’t want to be at the mercy of my emotions. I want to use them, to enjoy them, and to dominate them.” Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray



” Crying is for plain women. Pretty women go shopping.” Oscar Wilde




Standard

Leave a Reply

